Rustic Glam

The decor term “Glam” always gets my attention.  I imagine dramatic furniture, mirrored everything, luxurious fabrics and any excuse for an early happy hour!

The burlap and rustic finished wood trend I am seeing lately may not scream glamorous to most, but it all depends on how it’s styled.  Think Hollywood + beachy.  For me it conjures up memories of a long weekend spent with my best girlfriends at the Outer Banks, NC  fall 2009): big house on the beach, off season, no kids, no husbands, hors d’oeuvres as main courses and endless mimosas!  In other words: I’m feeling it.

In small doses, a beechwood coffee table here, a burlap basket there, two upholstered raw linen chairs by the fireplace, mixed in the more glamorous and finer finishes and you have Rustic Glam.  Not only can this look be green, but if you’re crafty it can also be inexpensive to do.

Hudson Furniture Inc. The “Knight Base Table”

Driftwood & Burlap Lamp. http://www.Piecesinc.com

Upholstered Chair featured in CANADIAN HOUSE & HOME Dec 2009

I myself have plans to make burlap-backed-with-black-linen-with-exposed stitching-drapes (say that two times fast) for my new kitchen and breakfast room (pics to come when I finally build and move into the new house : I hope mid 2010).

If you want to whip up some curtains yourself but aren’t crafty, you can buy some no sew stuff at your local craft store (even some grocery stores sell it) of course you can also just fork out the cash; La Belle Maison has some nice ones for a reasonable price or check out Ikea and your local home stores.

Burlap / Jute Curtains

Go get your rustic on,

J

3 thoughts on “Rustic Glam

  1. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

  2. Pingback: Finally; My Burlap Curtains « Julie Loves Home

Leave a comment; I love feedback!

