What Oui’ve been up to: Getting into the Christmas spirit!

No, it’s not a spelling mistake.  My husband and I are French Canadians, born and raised in Montreal (Canada).   Our family name is (obviously)  French; Ouimet.   With all those vowels it can be a little tricky to pronounce for those who aren’t familiar with the language.  One particular U.S. friend (Thanks B.P.!), shortened and simplified our name to: The Oui’s.  Most people know a little basic French (Oui means Yes).  Because it’s way cuter and more fun, we gladly adopted it and it caught on quickly with the rest of our U.S. peeps and even Canadian ones!  We have been The Oui’s for about 12 years now.

CHEATING CHALK BOARD: by the front door I hung a vintage oil print of a winter scene. However sometimes I will slip in a piece of black craft paper between the painting and frame with a message I’ve scribbled using white chalk! Click here for the how-to.

Like many families, (U.S.) Thanksgiving is the kick off to Christmas in our household.  This weekend the kids made their gingerbread houses, I spray painted my white artificial Christmas tree (more on that here), afterwards the kids decorated it (and no, I did not re-decorate it after they went to bed!).  I also did a little holiday decorating outdoors and my oldest and the hubs started preparing the outdoor skating rink (it gets more elaborate every year!).  But the best part is that I FINALLY got to unveil my 6.5″ foot purple feather tree! I purchased it last February for $15 (marked down from $199) at Bouclair.  I’ve been so excited about it, and was thrilled that it turned out to be way more beautiful and glamourous than I even imagined.  It is definitely this holiday’s wow factor in The Oui’ family room!

Our outdoor skating rink is coming along; hung lights, made the form out of PVC pipe, lined it with a huge white tarp and rigged some kind of hard netting on each end so that pucks don’t fly out into the yard and disappear in the snow until spring!

VINTAGE VIBE: Red & Aqua is the outdoor color theme this year!

- Red flocked Christmas wreath is from HomeSense, I added the aqua balls which I purchased years ago from The Dollar Tree.- Red flocked Christmas wreath is from HomeSense, I added the aqua balls which I purchased years ago from The Dollar Tree.

I added the ‘well…jingle my bells” sign. Purchased last year at The Christmas Tree Shop.

In the breakfast nook: our six year old Martha Stewart Christmas tree, with a little rejuvenation courtesy of white spray paint! More on that here.

STILL TWEAKING: I went for a walk in the forest with my daughter and our dog, Kaya (blue-eyed Siberian Husky). We found some great stuff for the outdoor winter/Christmas/holiday themed planters (I have three on on our front steps)!  I snipped a few evergreen branches but the birch branches we took from the forest floor.  The planters still need a little work -like more pops of red and aqua perhaps? The bird houses were made by a friend of my mom’s years ago and the icicle ornaments I tucked in there upside down.  There are ‘branch lights’ in there also, but you can’t tell in the daytime.

the new 6.5 foot purple feather tree measures closer to 10 feet thanks to the sleek silver planter! It fills up that wall and reinforces the high (two story) ceilings in the family room! (yes, that is Racheal Ray on the TV!)

A (heavy) black marble vase, filled with faux snow and flocked white branches is a nice touch for the season -and it can hang around long after the Christmas decorations are put away.

More (complete) holiday decor photos to come soon! Have you started decorating for the holidays yet?

You might also like…

Leave a comment; I love feedback!

