WHY NOT WEDNESDAY : January blah fix for a buck!

“candles, candy, coffee beans, crystals and a dash of salt!”

It’s January.  The holiday decorations are put away, the planning and entertaining has been replaced by daily routines and many of us are trying to get back on a budget in order pay down that credit card before spring.  Blah.

Still, it’s nice to treat yourself and your space to a little something new.  With the lose change floating around at the bottom of your purse and a few items you may already have around the house, you can create a cute custom candle or two!

Valentine candy candle

Pretty Edible: This tarnished silver crystal bowl was $1 (check out those second hand shops people!).  The small vanilla scented candle ($1) and bag of valentine heart candies (also for $1) were both purchased at the Dollarama.

candle and valentine candy

Coffee candle

Wedding Leftovers & Coffee Beans: Dig out one of those centrepiece vases you were lucky enough to bring home from the last wedding you attended (sarcasm alert!) or pick up something new (the round glass vase pictured, was only $1).  Browse your collection of candles (or treat yourself to a new one).  Add a couple of scoops of whole coffee beans to your vase (about $1 worth, from a bag that cost me about $6) for an adorable, not to mention great smelling, candle -perfect for the kitchen!

Coffee candle

crystals

Q. What is that?
A. Chandelier crystals, duh!

crystals

crystal candle

Bling It: Who doesn’t have a pile of antique chandelier crystals hanging around am I right? OK, well I had some sitting in a closet …and one day I just thought; “hey my crystals might be cute in this candle holder with the woodsy smelling candle I scored for a couple of bucks!“.  It is, and I love it! (candle from Michael’s arts and crafts store).

crystals candle

crystal candle

Faux Snow: Here (below) is an idea that comes in way under a buck.  A pretty glass from your pantry, some coarse sea salt and a tea candle = a sweet winter theme candle!

coarse salt candle

The 101: Why spend a lot on something you are literally going to set on fire!!?

sea salt candle

Q. What is ‘CINQ‘?
A. It’s French for ‘FIVE

sea salt sandle

6 thoughts on “WHY NOT WEDNESDAY : January blah fix for a buck!

  1. After looking over a handful of the blog posts on your blog,
    I really appreciate your way of writing a blog. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon.
    Take a look at my website as well and tell me your opinion.

  2. Hello Julie, I just wanted to tell you that I love your blog. I just made an offer on a house in Beaconsfield so your blog will come in handy really soon for inspiration!

Leave a comment; I love feedback!

