campaign inspired dresser makeover (in 1 day)

Unfamiliar with what a “campaign” piece of furniture might look like?  Check out Bob Vila, Google or Pinterest.  I’m definitely not the first do this type of DIY!

A little background: I have been looking for 2 identical pieces of furniture for a while now (for over a year!).  Ideally, I wanted a two door style cabinet or even small dressers, to be used on either side of a sofa/day bed in my master bedroom.

The shopping: I have been popping into vintage, antique and thrift shops and have spent hours browsing online at craigslist and Kijiji.  I even happily discovered a used office reseller and a hotel furniture reseller (huge warehouses…soooo fun, I will be back for sure).  BUT, aside from small night tables it was rare to find two matching pieces I liked.  I checked out big box stores like HomeSense, Ikea and even Walmart but the sizes were always wrong.  Once in a while I would check out furniture stores, only to find pieces which would have been gorgeous, but because I needed to purchase two of them, it was way over my budget!

3 drawer dresser makeover DIY

The score: 9a.m last Friday I was browsing through a thrift store I like to frequent and came upon two small almond color 80′s dressers.  Although they were not exactly what I had in mind -sure, the gold strip above the first drawer was a real put off, but they were in excellent shape, very well constructed (by a company in Quebec, Canada -not China!) and the real brass handles had a great vintage look and nicely worn patina.  When I whipped out the measuring tape, I found them to be the PERFECT dimensions for the snug, built-in look I was after.  And at $20 each, I decided I had to take the risk.

The process: On the way home I started thinking that I could quite easily add some L and T brass hardware to trim out the dressers and give them that campaign look.  At my local HOME HARDWARE improvement store, I picked up 3 cans of Krylon white gloss spray paint, then headed over to the hardware isle. That’s when I spotted something different:  These really pretty, curvy, brass drawer corners that I guess I would describe as Moorish in design.

DIY makeover campaign morrocan inspired drawercorner

After some deep contemplation and hesitation I decided to go for it.  After-all, the existing drawer pulls are not true campaign style and at $12 to $20 per drawer pull for the real deal x 6 drawers, I wasn’t exactly thrilled about replacing them, especially since I actually loved the original pulls.

vintage brass handle

The Moorish brass corners come in two sizes: I bought 4 packs of the large ones and 2 packs of the small (4 corners in each pack).  I figured I would put the smaller ones on the first drawer …for extra interest.  OK, fine, that reason and the fact that they only had 4 packs left of the large ones in stock. LOL.  But honestly it was a happy accident … I never do anything just because it’s easy and fast … I am actually pretty picky! (Hello? I waited one whole year to find the perfect furniture pieces to fit in that space in my room didn’t I?!).

white high glossspray paint dresser KRYLON

The DIY: Back home, I removed the pulls, taped off the gold strip and started spray painting.  It took 4 light coats, allowing a couple of hours of drying time in between.  Luckily the weather outside was perfect: no humidity, a little breezy, dry and sunny.  By dinnertime I was putting the drawer pulls back on and installing the “morrocan-ish” drawer corners.

DIY dresser makeover campaign morrocan inspired

The end: Before the hubs got back from his business trip later that evening I had lugged them into our bedroom and began the fun part of styling them!

styled campaign dresser

And then a funny thing happened; I now actually LOVE the once tacky gold strip above the first drawer!

DIY dresser morrocan campaign inspired

Don’t you love it when a project just all comes together?!

DIY morrocan campaign  dresser whiteWhat do you think?

Julie

You may also like…

Master Bedroom

Master Bedroom

nook built in shelves home office

Built In Shelves DIY

One thought on “campaign inspired dresser makeover (in 1 day)

Leave a comment; I love feedback!

