Finally; My Burlap Curtains

Above: the burlap curtains in my dining room.

This post is overdue.  I had mentioned in an earlier post a little while back, ok almost 2 years ago …my fascination for burlap -and how I had plans to make burlap curtains in my new house.  Well I did!  Before all the boxes were unpacked it was one the of first “moved in” projects I tackled.  I made them for the two rooms at the front of the house; the dinning room and the study.  Each room has two windows.  It’s been just over a year now (late summer 2010) and I am still very pleased with how they turned out.

For more detailed photos of this space click HERE.

Typically I am drawn to more glamourous and higher end looking home accents but sometimes too much -can be well, too much! – and make your space come across as stiff/un-fun/not relaxing -all things (I hope) I am not!

The burlap is a nice surprise and compliment to the rooms other decor making both spaces feel connected, inviting and not too serious for a family of five (+ our Siberian Husky Kaya).

The how-to is very simple: Sewer or not -anyone can do it.  First of all not all burlap is the same -some is way more rustic “wrap the trees for winter” kind and actually come in a couple of different beige brown tones.  I went to a couple of fabric stores before finding the right one.  The good news is even at full price -it makes for a very affordable fabric to make window treatments from!  I also purchased grommets -which now come in a variety of finishes and colors.  All I did was hem the top (on my sewing machine, but could be done by hand or by hot iron with no sew tape) and made sure I spaced out my grommets evenly before popping them in: very easy!  Next I hung up the curtain on the curtain rod which I had already installed, and pinned them where I wanted them hemmed : I didn’t want them to puddle, but just graze the floor.  I gave the bottom a substantial large hem -so that it would be heavy and weigh the fabric down since burlap is kind of unruly.  I chose not to finish the sides at all leaving them as is; They were a perfect width plus I liked the way the fabric was already finished by the manufacturer with a white and yellow thread already running along the side to prevent fraying.

For those not interested in DIY : enquire about having drapery panels made.  Ask a dry cleaner or find out who does side work at your local fabric shop (many people who work at the store are themselves avid sewers).  Also try places like Patina Green or Etsy for ready made ones.

The Study

THE 101: Burlap can be a beautiful, easy and inexpensive drapery solution.  They are eclectic and can make an otherwise serious, fussy space feel more relaxed.  Burlap comes in different tones from light bleached beige to deep red with sparkle!  Can also make a great no sew tablecloth and even a unique lampshade.  Grommets are an easy and modern way to hang any drapery panel. 

You might also like…

13 thoughts on “Finally; My Burlap Curtains

  1. Hola! I’ve been reading your web site for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  2. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout for your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to look a great weblog like this one today..

  3. Julie, I love your curtains! What a classy way to dress up your windows and still have a country vibe (although they would look equally elegant in a classy city apartment too!)
    I also love this site, Julie! I’m following you on Twitter too, and loved your article on Social Media. I couldn’t agree more with what you wrote.
    Facebook did a great deal for MS patients, making people aware of CCSVI.

    Keep up the great work!

  4. I love your curtains! What a classy way to dress up your windows and still have a country vibe (although they would look equally elegant in a classy city apartment too!)
    I also love this site, Julie! I’m following you on Twitter too, and loved your article on Social Media. I couldn’t agree more with what you wrote.
    Facebook did a great deal for MS patients, making people aware of CCSVI.

    Keep up the great work!

  5. I love your curtains i have been looking at all different types of burlap curtains but can not find any burlap like yours. Where did you find it at finally?

  6. I’ve always liked burlap too! I’ve seen really cute tablecloths, but I’ve not seen burlap window treatments. Good call. They look terrific!

Leave a comment; I love feedback!

