Why Not Wednesday: swap out your grates!

For me, it’s the tiny details that stand out.  Probably because I am neurotic and notice little things like someone taking the time to change out the standard wood string pulls on bamboo blinds for cute buttons or beads instead -or catching how the piping on a pillow relates to another colour in the room.  It’s the close attention to those careful, little details that really make an impression on me.

When we built our home and the heating guy asked for a sample of our main flooring I was OK (not thrilled) with the brown plastic heating grates he gave us.  Of course, we don’t have wood flooring everywhere and so the brown has been grating (sorry, I can’t help the tacky pun) on me.

brown heating grate

BEFORE

Last week while on a hardware store run, I took a moment to browse the clearance table and was super excited to snatch up a chunky brass heating grate -aside from being obsessed with brass/gold these days, I really think this new heating grate is a classic match to the marble flooring in the powder room and adds some unexpected yet traditional bling to the hexagon tile in kids bathroom.

brass heating grate marble floor

brass heating grate marble floorbrass heating grate hexagin tile dark grout

follow my ‘DETAILS Pinterest board HERE.  Curious about my powder room? Then click HERE.  Want to sneak a peak at the kids bathroom? Click HERE!

You may also like…

Leave a comment; I love feedback!

