why not use wrapping paper to line the back of your cabinet?

whynotwednesday6

Measure. Cut. Tape.

wrapping paper

Before committing to paint or wallpaper for that cabinet or open shelving that isn’t as colorful or interesting as you would like it to be, give wrapping paper a try.  Not only is it available in all sorts of fun patterns but it is also inexpensive.  Which makes this quick DIY a no-brainer!  If after a week you decide you no longer like the look, rip it out the way you would unwrap a gift!

Check out these two fantastic examples (below) from Old Beach Bungalow and In My Own Style.

This past weekend I got the urge to putter around the house and make some accessory changes and even moved furniture around (more on that to come!):  In my dining room I have this gorgeous vintage steel tanker bookcase (photo below).

Dining Room: Vintage Steel Lawyers Bookcase

I decided to move it to a different wall and restyle it, but because it’s no longer right across from the windows it is shaded and makes it hard to see anything displayed inside.  I figured this would be a great opportunity to give the wrapping paper idea a try. I had recently bought a nice roll of pale grey hounds-tooth wrapping paper.  It took me about 5 minutes to do, and I really like how it draws your eye in.  I’m still not 100% sure I will keep it this way forever, but it’s always fun to experiment and try something new.

vintage steel tanker bookcae

houdstooth wrapping paper lined cabinet

wine glasses displayed wrapping paper lined cabinet

Thanks for checking in,

-Julie

you might also like…

Styling shelves

Styling shelves

My Dining Room

My Dining Room

2 thoughts on “why not use wrapping paper to line the back of your cabinet?

Leave a comment; I love feedback!

