DIY Mirrored Coffee Table

Articles, Home

I love mirrored furniture.  Loved it even before it became a hot new trend in home decor and pieces could be snatched up a places like Target!  It brings glam, luxe and a feminine vibe to a room.  Plus, I am a firm believer that every space needs some sparkle so if you don’t have it in the form of candle holders or picture frames then this is a good way to get some!

After months of shopping for a coffee table, I decided that either a super modern glass table or a charming vintage-y mirrored one would be the way to go.  But every time I came across a potential candidate it was too perfect and pricey;  I like nice things but I don’t like feeling I have to run around strategically placing coasters or plastic sheeting to protect my family or guests from my stuff.

One day I was perusing the wall mirrors at HomeSense  (a.k.a. HomeGoods, TJ Maxx, Marshals, Winners), when I had a vision: so many of these mirrors which were meant for walls could totally be re-imagined as tables.  I was psyched.

That’s when a large mirror reduced from $189 to $49 spoke to me.  Sure the frame was scratched (already distressed? perfect) and it had two tiny cracks on one of the mirrored tiles (nothing a pile of magazines couldn’t hide?).

After I hauled it into my car, atop my groceries -during a snow storm might I add, I popped over to a local second hand shop where I had seen a cute coffee table the week before with a bowed top (as if someone sat on it).  Luckily it was still there, the perfect size (slightly smaller than my mirror) and for $10 it was cheaper and sturdier (because of the framing) than buying pre-made legs from the hardware store.

Later in the garage I removed the table top, gave it a quick coat of black spray paint and with a little wood glue and some screws I re-attached the base to my mirror.

I was amazed at how awesome it looked, how little it cost me and how impressed the kids were that I whipped up a coffee table between dinner and dessert!

The 101:  Scan the isles of your favorite store for discounted mirrors with a frame that could pass as an occasional table.  Rather than buying pre-made furniture legs at the hardware store, look for a used table or even re-purpose one you already own.  Spray paint is a quick fix to make odd pieces match.

*Slightly different version of above article was also featured on The Hudson St. Lazare Gazette‘s web site on Wednesday January 11, 2012

9 thoughts on “DIY Mirrored Coffee Table

  1. Can I simply say what a relief to search out someone who truly knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You positively know how you can carry a problem to gentle and make it important. Extra folks have to learn this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant consider youre no more in style since you undoubtedly have the gift.

  2. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you’ve gotten hit the nail on the head. Your thought is outstanding; the problem is something that not enough individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very glad that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing referring to this.

Leave a comment; I love feedback!