Master Bedroom Retreat

Home

I’ve blogged about my master bedroom before (you can find that post HERE).  But I never mentioned anything about the large recessed wall across from the bed.  There was a television, complete with visible ugly wires and a small audio stand housing our digital video recorder (DVR).  Blah.

masterbedroomemptyrecessedwall

Several months ago we ditched the satellite dish for a tiny Apple TV unit (it sits just on top of the television), which meant “ba-bye” to the DVR and the awkward audio stand.  The hubs got to work opening a section of the wall and did a little electrical work to hide all the wires  Then he repaired the wall, mudded and sanded and I finished up with a coat of primer and two coats of leftover bedroom paint.  I must say we did a pretty good job -you can’t even tell!

daybed

Now we were left with a clean, empty slate.  At first I had visions of something custom built like bookcases or shelving.  But you always have to think about resale and if/when we sell this house, built-ins would mean one huge wall lost for bedroom furniture pieces like dressers or a vanity (we prefer storing all our clothes in our his and her walk-in closets).

usingdogbedpillowsondaybedsofa

With our kids getting older and taking over more of our home’s entertaining spaces for themselves and their friends, I wanted to create a quite, lounging, retreat feeling in our bedroom.  I decided to incorporate the existing day bed we already had and buy cabinets to place on either end so I could have a surface where I could put a small coffee pot and sparkling water (boutique hotel inspired much?!).  The cabinets were tricky to find because I needed a specific size for a snug, custom-like fit between the (recessed) wall and the daybed. After several months I did find two identical cabinets in the perfect size that needed a little DIY! (you can read all about that HERE).

masterbedroomretreat3

The accessories however were fun to shop for, and I was definitely looking to inject some touches of silver and gold for a little glamour like the gorgeous antique crystal and silver pitcher – it weighs a ton and I am in serious love with it!  Or the cute lamp with gold sequins shade I picked up at HomenSense/HomeGoods.  As well as a couple of hits of coral pink, like the stunning vintage vase I scored and the cashmere blanket I already had (from my mom) tucked away in the back of my linen closet.

masterbedroomretreat8

sparkingwaterpeony

daybedcoffeeloungemasterbedroom

The three round abstract art pieces were a made by me, to find out more on the art DIY click HERE.  The art resting near the coffee maker is an original by a talented friend Susan B. Landis, you can browse her work and get more info on her blog HERE.

masterbedroomcoffee

masterbedroomtouchesofpink

masterbedroomretreat2

masterbedroomretreat11

masterbedroompillowsdaybed

I did a lot of shopping in my own house, which I always try and do first before going out and spending.  Not only does it save money but by moving things around to different rooms in your home, you get to enjoy your stuff in a new way.

The mask on the floor is from a vacation to Mexico and I plan on hanging it eventually but it is SUPER HEAVY and definitely a two person, with power tools, kind of job.  Although I am starting to like it resting there on the floor!  The stainless tray and coffee pot is by Everyday Essential from Loblaws.  The container that the plant is in is actually a storage basket I picked up at HomeSense/HomeGood

masterbedroomretreat1

All of the throw pillows I already had (some made by me, others purchased) except for the two large back pillows which are in fact, dog beds! You can read all about that HERE as well as the sparkly sequins teal pillow or as I like to call it The Tube Dress Throw Pillow Skirt (you can read about that HERE).

masterbedroompillows

masterbedroomretreat7

vignette: decorating master bedroom

More to come soon …thanks for stopping by!

-Julie

you might also like..

14 thoughts on “Master Bedroom Retreat

  1. Hello. Over from Addicted to Decorating. Very nice and oh so cozy looking. Question, you don’t mention that fab silver table. Where is that from?

    1. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog! The silver tray with the coffee maker is from the grocery store. I bought it in their seasonal section (with the outdoor summer stuff). It’s just a plain lightweight oval stainless steel tray. I’m sure I paid less than $3 for it. I have since tweaked that area a little and swapped out that tray with a heavy duty round one instead -and different mugs. The gold tray however is a from a vintage shop:, which are great places to pick up unique and fun trays on the cheap!
      Have a great weekend!
      Julie

      1. Thank you for the reply, but I asked about the silver TABLE. You have a great weekend as well!

      2. Oh My Gosh!! Hihihi… I am so sorry! I scored the silver table at TJMaxx about 5 years ago and I paid less than $40. But I still see them once in a while in a variety of sizes and shapes at HomeSense/HomeGoods. A friend of mine purchased a similar one at the same time and she uses it to elevate a house place (out of her curious dog’s reach) It’s a great little table: so convenient and looks great in any just about any space I’ve used it in.
        Take care, Julie

  2. what an awesome job. I think you filled the nook perfectly. Another thing you (or potentially the person you sell the house to later) could do is install a set of sliding doors and turn it into a closet. Seems like the perfect size for it.

    1. Thank-you! As for the bedroom wall color, it is a custom paint color mixed by me. I do this a lot. I’m kind of crazy -or should I say I drive my husband crazy! He can’t understand why of all the paint in this world I can’t find the perfect one. Hehe. The back story is that I had a color in my previous bedroom called KASHMIR by Ralp Lauren Paints (which I purchased at The Home Depot at the time, circa 2002-ish). I loved that color, but they no longer make it. It was soothing and had a lot of grey and green in it. And just like your fave khaki capri pants it goes with EVERY single color you can imagine! Anyways, I tried my best to create that color myself …and I think I did!

    1. Thanks so much! I’m pretty happy with it. A couple of weeks ago my sons had a late night and a friend slept over, so instead of going into the kitchen and risking waking everyone up, the hubs and I made a pot of coffee in our room and caught up on some reading and news! I felt like I was on holiday! ;-)

Leave a comment; I love feedback!